Introducing The Winners From The Sydney Multicultural Film Awards 2021

SMFA (Sydney Multicultural Film Awards) is excited to reveal the list of winners from the 2021 Sydney Multicultural Film Awards. The festival received over 110 film submissions from directors and producers all over the world across 15 categories.

SMFA is an award ceremony that celebrates the talent coming from creatives from all around the world, with a focus on inclusion, diversity, and multiculturalism. Set in Sydney, this festival offers a beautiful backdrop and home to the awards ceremony.

After considering a strong field of 110 submissions, our judges have voted to determine this year’s nominees and finalists. These submissions represent the best and most affecting short films to come out of the past year.

Without further ado, check out the full list of winners at this year’s Sydney Multicultural Film Awards:

Best Original Score

The Ribbon WINNER
Happy Birthday Dear

Best Cinematography

A Section from Troy
You Are The One
A Cry For Help

Best Editor

You Are The One

Best Screenplay

Tales of Lovely Locked Losing Heroes WINNER

Best Short Film Documentary

Dajla: cinema and oblivion – Arturo Dueñas Herrero (Spain) WINNER
Refugee’s welcome, Kostiantyn Mishchenko
Pacing the Pool, Jay Jay Jegathesan, (Australia)

Best Short Animation

Ballad of Pipe and Necklace- Martin Babić ( Croatia) WINNER
Painting By Numbers, Radheya Jegatheva (Australia)
The Leaf, Leonardo Sá (Canada)

Best Experimental

Below A Dark Wood – Bill Slovick (United States) WINNER
TalkingWe Is Easy, Being Us – JOESÉR ALVAREZ, ARIANA BOAVENTURA (Brazil)

Best Music Video

G.O.F – Fairy Temple – Radheya Jegatheva  WINNER
Stevan, Hope It’s Not – Jedi Kang
Leave It On The Line – Teddy Grossman (United States)
From What You Left Behind- – Jodhi Ramsden-Mavric
A Little Déjà Vu- Anna Lia ALVISI (Australia)
WHERE I’M FROM – Pascal Tessaud (France)

Best Short Film

Tyrannosaur and the Secret Garden (Director’s Cut) WINNER
Sorrow, Stefan Teofilovic, (Serbia)
Holestepper (Pisahueco), Sergio Fernández Muñoz (Peru)
Karmina, Wiktor Ejsmont (Poland)
Other, Samantha Jean (United States)
Mr.Sisyphus, Jedi Kang (Korea)
Ceci N’est Pas Une Pomme (This is Not An Apple), Miguel Sebastian Romero (United States)
A Cry For Help, Steven Esteb (United States)

Best Child Actor

Milas Tagebuch (Milas Diary) WINNER

Best Supporting Actor

Akebo – Donne Ngabo (Theogene) (Theogene) WINNER
(Theogene) Red Sin – Owen Hu

Best Supporting Actress

Self Therapy – Luca Leyers, Ine SchoemansOther WINNER
Other- Samantha Jean

Best Director

Story of A Story – Debajit Banerjee (Australia) WINNER
Ceci N’est Pas Une Pomme (This is Not An Apple) – Miguel Sebastian Romero (United States)
You Are The One – Shimul Shikder (MD AKTHERUZZAMAN)
Harmonica – Yalçın Dilsiz (Turkey)
Red Sin – Christopher Ortiz (United States)

Best Actress

Akebo – Aurore Girabanyu (Uwineza) WINNER
Other – Mandie Cheung (United States)
Ceci N’est Pas Une Pomme (This Is Not An Apple) – Shirley Kim Nguyen (United States)

Best Actor

Road.Dogs – Wol Riak (Krown) WINNER
Soul Catcher – Jay Jay Jegathesan
Sisyphus – Sungwoo Kang
The Writer’s Journey – Flip Sertic (United States)

Leave a Reply
You May Also Like